2018-08-08 / Front Page

Incumbent commissioners defeated

Sanilac County voters went to the polls in Tuesday’s primary election, deciding contests in two county commission districts and the county road commission.

Voters also passed five county millage requests for the SAVE Partnership, 911, county roads, parks and drug task force.

Millage requests were also approved for the Croswell-Lexington, Carsonville-Port Sanilac, Peck and Brown City school districts, as well as for the village of Deckerville, Sanilac District Library, and Buel, Delaware, Lamotte, Maple Valley, Minden, Moore, Speaker, Washington and Wheatland townships.

Two incumbent Sanilac County Commissioners were defeated.

In District 3, challenger Joseph O’Mara defeated incumbent Bill Sarkella, 615 to 468. The district covers Sanilac and Lexington townships and the city of Croswell.

In District 5, challenger Joel Wyatt narrowly defeated incumbent Paul Muxlow, 662 to 656. The district includes Worth, Fremont, Speaker and Maple Valley townships, and the city of Brown City.

In the race for the road commission, incumbent Don Rickett Jr. defeated challenger Rick Kappel, 3,028 to 2,684.

All the candidates for the contested county commission and road commission seats were Republicans. Since no Democrats ran for the seats, victory in the primary is tantamount to winning in the November general election, barring write-in candidates.

In the contested Democratic race for the 10th Congressional seat, the winner was Kimberly Bizon of Lexington, Bizon received 21,938 votes, defeating Frank Accavitti Jr. of Imlay Township who received 17,048 votes and Michael McCarthy of Port Huron who garnered 14,347.

Bizon will face incumbent Republican Paul Mitchell of Dryden in the November general election. Mitchell was unopposed in the primary.

Voter turnout on Tuesday was 35 percent.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 Sanilac County News, All Rights Reserved

Special Sections

Click here for digital edition
2018-08-08 digital edition